Gardening chores for February

What to focus on, as your gardening chores for February:

apple_pruning1. Still ensure that all your tender plants are securely protected by fleece.

2. If not already done, its your last chance to prune the dormant shrubs and trees that require a good shaping up. Any Winter flowering shrubs must be pruned after they have finished flowering. Take care not to cut the Spring flowering shrubs back otherwise you may miss the show this year.

3. Any bareroot plants such as roses and trees can be planted, as long as the soil is not frozen or waterlogged. This gets them off to the best start in Spring.

4. Net your fruit and vegetables to keep the birds away.

5. Plant onion, shallots and garlic towards the end of this month.

6. Late flowering clematis can be cut back to the lowest and strongest buds followed by a good mulch and feed.

7. The ornamental grasses that have been left over Winter, can now be cut back, as you would have noticed the new shoots emerging.Lawn_care_moss_and_thatch

8. Mowing may be necessary if the weather is mild, but do not mow if the conditions are very wet as you may damage the lawn.

9. A lighter form of lawn scarification can be done with a leaf rake to begin clearing the remaining moss for preparation of overseeding your bare patches.

10. Chit your potato tubers in preparation for planting.

Happy Gardening!

5 thoughts on “Gardening chores for February

  1. preciouspen1955

    I liked but I am all confused, tow I am going to cut away at the tangled mass of honeysuckle and it scares me i so want it to flower this summer, and the roses I have never pruned them and this year I need them; also there’s a few bits and bobs that need to be named here in my wonderful work in progress , after being out all day and loving the feel of the cold air eventually as I worked , I am now sitting at the laptop with gardening books strewn around me and lots of pages open , yes on gardening and now I find your blog here and it is a delight because it puts a bit of order to ramblings as I dream of pink roses cascading down the sides of the house and sunny days admiring all the plants that will be thriving in my garden that is at the moment a big huge challenge. Happy days to you looking so forward to following your blog. Kathy.

    Reply
    1. The Avid Gardener Post author

      Thank you so much Kathy. I’m glad I can help. Honeysuckle is tough and grows fast. Cutting back now is no problem at all. They will still flower regardless. A fairly hard prune on the roses would be advisable as it i showing to grow very sparse otherwise. Cut above a shoot facing in the direction you want it to grow.

      Reply
      1. preciouspen1955

        Yes I agree it is rewarding , today my task is to tackle the area where the honeysuckle is , I am posting photos each day on here of my progress. Thank you so much for your replies looking forward to following your garden blog , your advise is like precious stones falling on my wild and wonderful land here that has decided to challenge me into discovering the abundance that lays within it . Kind regards Kathy.

Leave a comment